Everything and a Book

Book reviews for teens by a teen!

The Maze Runner by James Dashner December 2, 2011

Filed under: Reviews — Tori @ 10:22 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hey everyone!  Just real quick I want to apologive for the 9 month gap…highschool, its crazy! And now its junior year which equals standarized testing, crap loads of work, and figuring out what you want to do with your life!  What I’m trying to say is that while I am posting again, don’t expect much because I can’t make any promises.  Also, some of my posts may be on school books because AP English never gives you a break! (currently we are reading The Scarlet Letter…thrilling, I know).  So thanks for holding on, and I’ll see what I can do!

Now, lets get to the good stuff! The Maze Runner starts with a boy, Thomas, waking up in a pitch-black box, which we learn is an elevator.  When the elevator/box opens, Thomas, whose memory has been wiped, is surrounded by a group of boys staring down at him and welcoming him to the Glade.  These group of boys live in what they call the Glade, a place whose location no one knows.  They only know they were sent there by the Creators, whoever they are.  Beyond the Glade lies the Maze, an ever changing labyrinth of stone walls and hedges which may hold the only hope of escape.  Thomas adjusts to the Glade and each day more and more questions arise.  Why are they here? Who sent them? Where are they? And, most importantly, what kind of world waits outside?  Slowly, but surely Thomas learns the routine of the Glade and is determined to aid in the effort of discovering escape, until one day a girl arrives in The Box (the elevator thingy) and everyone’s world and concept of what might be reality is turned upside down!

A great book!  I was so hooked I could hardly put it down.  At first I was a little hesitant to read this book, as its not my normal genre, but I’m so glad I did!  The story line is captivating and full of suprises, you never know what is going to happen next.  At first I have to say, everything is a little confusing and almost nothing makes sense, so if your discouraged in the beginning, I urge you, just keep reading and it will get spactacular, I promise!  The characters are interesting and you find yourself wrapped up in their situation.  The story makes you wonder how you would handle the situation if it happend to you.  So, yeah, great book all in all.  A little confusing to start with and really hard to explain because it doesn’t relate to anything else! Just try it, I promise you won’t be disappointed! If you’ve already read the book, let me know what you think!

Sorry for the short review today, but its late and its been a long week, and to be honest I just can’t think anymore! Until next time!

 

Leave a comment